Resource Contents

OH&S Provincial Bodies

Occupational Health and Safety Legislation in Canada is divided into 14 jurisdictions, including one federal, 10 provincial and 3 territorial. The federal health and safety legislation is commonly referred to as Canada Labour Code Part II and regulations. The Canada Labour Code also applies to employees of companies or sectors that operate across provincial or international borders.

These businesses include:

  • Airports
  • Banks
  • Canals
  • Exploration and development of petroleum on lands subject to federal jurisdiction
  • Grain elevators licensed by the Canadian Grain Commission, and certain feed mills and feed warehouses, flour mills and grain seed cleaning plants
  • Ferries, tunnels and bridges
  • Highway transport
  • Pipelines
  • Radio and television broadcasting and cable systems
  • Railways
  • Shipping and shipping services
  • Telephone and telegraph systems

Approximately 10% of the Canadian workforce falls under the OH&S jurisdiction of the federal government. The remaining 90% of Canadian workers fall under the legislation of the province or territory where they work.

The following is a list of the OH&S regulating bodies and a link to the OHS legislation for each Province and Territory:


Occupational Health and Safety
Alberta Labour
10th Floor Seventh Street Plaza,
South Tower
10030 - 107 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J-3E4

General Inquiries
(780) 415-8690

Workplace Health and Safety Call Centre
1 866 415-8690

Occupational Health and Safety

British Columbia

WorkSafe BC
6951 Westminster Highway
P.O. Box 5350 STN Terminal
Richmond, BC V6B-5L5

General Inquiries
(604) 273-2266

Health & Safety Questions
(604) 276-3100 or 1 888 621-7233

After hours emergency reporting
(604) 273-7711 or 1 888 621-7233

Office Locations


SAFE Manitoba
16 ­ 363 Broadway
Winnipeg, MB R3C-3N9

For more information on SAFE Work Manitoba or for Workplace Safety and Health
(204) 957-7233 or 1 866 929-7233


New Brunswick

WorkSafe NB
Saint John ­ Head Office
1 Portland Street
P.O. Box 160
Saint John NB E2L 3X9

General Inquiries
(506) 632-2200 or 1 800 222-9775


Newfoundland and Labrador

Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Service NL
28 Pippy Place
St John's NL A1B 3X4

General Inquiries
1 800 563-5471

Serious Workplace Accident Reports
(709) 729­-4444 (24 Hours)


Northwest Territories and Nunavut

Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut
P.O. Box 8888
Centre Square Tower, 5th Floor
5022 49 Street
Yellowknife NT X1A 2R3

(867) 920-3888 or 1 800 661-0792

Iqaluit Office
(867) 979-8500 or 1 877 404-4407

Inuvik Office Industrial Safety
(867) 678-2301

For more information on SAFE Work Manitoba or for Workplace Safety and Health
(204) 957-7233 or 1 866 929-7233


Nova Scotia

Occupational Health & Safety Division
Nova Scotia Labour and Advanced Education
P.O. Box 697
5151 Terminal Road
Halifax, NS B3J-2T8


Occupational Health and Safety Branch
Ministry of Labour
505 University Avenue, 19th Floor
Toronto, ON M7A-1T7

1 877 202-0008

Regional Office

Prince Edward Island

Safe Workplaces
Workers' Compensation Board
P.O. Box 757. 14 Weymouth Street
Charlottetown PE C1A 7L7

General Inquiries (Atlantic Canada only)
(902) 368-5680 or 1 800 237-5049



Commission des normes, de l'équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST)
[Administrative Head Office]
524, rue Bourdages
Québec, QC G1K-7E2

1 844 838-0808

Regional Offices


WorkSafe Saskatchewan
200 ­- 1881 Scarth Street
Regina, SK S4P-4L1

(306) 787-4370 or 1 800 667-7590

To report a dangerous work situation:
1 800 567-7233



Occupational Health and Safety Branch Yukon Workers' Compensation, Health and Safety Board
401 Strickland Street
Whitehorse, YT Y1A-5N8

General Inquiries
(867) 667-5645 or 1 800 661-0443